Home * Weather/Road Conditions * Places to Stay * & Eat * Coast Cams * About us * Upcoming Events near Port Orford

Click Below to get nearby

Cities and Towns

Astoria
Astoria
Bandon
Barview
Bay City
Beaver
Brookings
Cannon Beach
Charleston
Cloverdale
Coos Bay
Coquille
Crescent City
Depoe Bay
Dunes City
Empire District
Florence
Gardiner
Garibaldi
Gearhart
Gleneden Beach
Gold Beach
Hebo
Klamath Area
Lakeside
Langlois
Lincoln City
Manzanita
Mapleton
Myrtle Point
Nehalem
Nesika Beach
Neskowin
Netarts
Newport
North Bend
Oceanside
Ophir
Otter Rock
Pacific City
Port Orford
Reedsport
Rockaway Beach
Sand Lake
Seal Rock
Seaside
Tillamook
Toledo
Waldport
Warrenton/Hammond
Westlake
Wheeler
Winchester Bay
Yachats

Highways

Highway 101

Astoria to Seaside
Cannon Beach to Manzanita
Manzanita to Tillamook
Tillamook to Lincoln City
Lincoln City to Newport
Newport to Yachats
Yachats to Florence
Florence to North Bend
Coos Bay to Port Orford
Port Orford to California

Cape Arago Highway
Highway 6
Three Capes Loop Highway

Interests

Places to Stay
Places to Eat
Airports
Aquariums and Marine Science Centers
Art Galleries
Bird Watching
Book Stores
Bridges
Dune Buggies
Ecotourism
Excursions
Fairgrounds and Event Facilities
Fishing
Glass Art
Golf Courses
Historic Sites
Horses
Hospitals
Lighthouses
Museums
Music Festivals
Myrtlewood
Parks
Shopping
Theatres
Tour Guides
Visitor and Interpretive Centers
Watersports

Lighthouses Port Orford
Cape Blanco Lighthouse

Located approximately 65 miles north of the California border or just a couple miles north of Port Orford, the Cape Blanco Lighthouse was originally built to warn ships of the rough surf off the Southern Oregon Coast. A fixed, white light, emitted from a powerful first-order Fresnel lens, was installed in 1870. A slightly smaller, revolving lens was installed in 1936 along with an electric motor, powered by a generator. The motor and lens are still operating in the tower today.

Bricks kilned by a local mason were used for its construction as a cost-savings measure. The first of the 200,000 of which were delivered in May 1870. A hood was installed around the lens in 1910 that was raised and lowered by a motor powered by a generator, which is still used today.

The lighthouse sits near the former 2,000-acre ranch belonging to the family of one of the early light keepers James Hughes. The two-story 1898 home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is open to the public. The first principal light keeper, H.B. Burnap, had served at the original Umpqua River Lighthouse prior to its demise in 1863. Prior to construction of the lighthouse, hotelier Louis Knapp kept a lantern in an ocean-facing window to guide ships through the treacherous coastline.

The lens was automated in 1980. Restoration work was performed on the lens in 2002 and the tower's copper roof and lantern room received some attention in 2003.

Location:
Port Orford Oregon

Edit