Nicknamed "Terrible Tilly" due to its exposure to storm waves, the Tillamook Rock Lighthouse is located on an basalt-rock islet near Tillamook Head. Built in 1880, it stands 62 feet tall. The only privately-owned lighthouse in Oregon that has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it is used as a columbarium, or storage of ashes. Formerly used to guide ships entering the Columbia River, it is currently inaccessible to visitors. It was deactivated in 1957 due to its continual upkeep costs and replaced with a whistle buoy.
The best places to view the Tillamook Rock Lighthouse is on the Oregon Coast trail near Tillamook Head between Ecola State Park and the town of Seaside.